Skip to main content
Avid Resources
9/1/16 5:50 PM
10/25/17 3:58 PM
10/25/17 3:57 PM
10/25/17 4:29 PM
10/25/17 4:21 PM
10/25/17 3:55 PM

Avid Site Team

Steve Musto
School Principal and
AVID Administration 
smusto@fremont.k12.ca.us
 
Lisa Diaconis
School Assistant Principal and
AVID Administration 
ldiaconis@fremont.k12.ca.us
 
Tiffany Wilkinson
AVID Site Coordinator     
twilkinson@fremont.k12.ca.us
 
Caitlin Conlon
AVID 11 and 12 Elective Teacher
cconlon@fremont.k12.ca.us
 
Danniel Ramirez
AVID 10 Elective Teacher
dramirez@fremont.k12.ca.us
 
Nicole Jeung
AVID 9 Elective Teacher
njeung@fremont.k12.ca.us
 
Fiona Weisnmehl
AVID Counselor
fweisnmehl@fremont.k12.ca.us
 
Suzanne Ayriss
AVID Counselor
ayriss@fremont.k12.ca.us
 
Julio Navarrete 
AVID Advocate
jnavarrete@fremont.k12.ca.us
 
John Creger
AVID Advocate
jcreger@fremont.k12.ca.us
 
Chris Fulton
AHS Activities Director
AVID Advocate
cfulton@fremont.k12.ca.us

AVID

AVID_logo-spot.jpg

Welcome to the AVID Home Page at American High School

 

AVID, Advancement Via Individual Determination, is a college readiness system designed to increase schoolwide learning and performance. The AVID College Readiness System (ACRS) accelerates student learning, uses research based methods of effective instruction, provides meaningful and motivational professional learning, and acts as a catalyst for systemic reform and change.

At the secondary grade levels (7th-12th grades), AVID is an approved elective course taken during the school day. Students are usually selected to enroll in an AVID class after an application process. For one class period a day, they learn organizational and study skills, work on critical thinking and asking probing questions, get academic help from peers and college tutors, and participate in enrichment and motivational activities that make college seem attainable. Students enrolled in AVID are typically required to enroll in at least one of their school's toughest classes, such as honors or Advanced Placement®, in addition to the AVID elective. As students progress in AVID, their self-images improve, and they become academically successful leaders and role models for other students.

The AVID curriculum, based on rigorous standards, was developed by middle and senior high school teachers in collaboration with college professors. It is driven by the WICOR method, which stands for writing, inquiry, collaboration, organization and reading. AVID curriculum is used in AVID elective classes.

 

Wondering if you can take AVID all four years and meet graduation requirements? Or if you can take other electives while in AVID?

 

Yes!  YES!  Yes, you can benefit from AVID and take AVID all four years while you take all your college prep and graduation requirements, including room for Advanced Placement classes and other electives!

 

Some examples of what can be done to make more room in your schedule: 

  • AVID students are eligible for 0 period PE in 9th and 10th grade (Not an option for most students)
    • Being in AVID does NOT guarantee that the student will get 0 period PE as it depends on space, but it does give you the right to request it during registration. 
  • You can postpone Health for either Junior or Senior year when there is more space in your schedule.
    • It is recommended that students complete Health during the 9th-grade year
  • You can postpone 10th grade P.E. class to 11th or 12th grade to make room for World Language.
    • Students are encouraged to take World Language classes in Junior High to allow for more schedule flexibility at the high school level.

Interested AVID students, we have you covered.  Get all the benefits of AVID and get all the classes you need at AHS!

 

See the example schedule below with 0 Period PE: 


9th GRADE

AVID 9 (UC/CSU "g" Credit)

0 Period PE 

Health/Semester Elective 

English 
Math
Science
World Language 

 

10th GRADE
AVID 10 (UC/CSU "g" Credit)

0 Period PE

English
Math 
Science 
World History or AP Euro
World Language (Year 2 or 3)

 

 

11th GRADE
AVID 11 (UC/CSU "g" Credit)

English 
Math 
Lab Science 
US History
World Language Year 3 or Fine Arts Elective or another Math/Science/AP elective

 

12th GRADE
AVID Senior Seminar (UC/CSU "g" Credit)

English 
Math Elective  

Science Elective
Government / Economics
Elective (Fine Arts, AP, or other)